Vulnerability, Mental Health & Exercise

In a room full of sweaty strangers

Jess Redfern
4 min readOct 1, 2019
Getting ready for a session of sweating on the bike at 1Rebel

This new writing journey that I’ve put myself on means sharing those intimate moments of feeling that would usually never go further than the walls of my own mind and being. Coincidentally, it’s those moments that we experience overwhelming feeling, whether it be gratitude, sadness, joy, or despair, that tend to make the most grounding pieces of writing. It’s those moments that I read (as a reader), that help me resonate with the writer, or the experience that the writer has been through, because those moments are the ones that are 100% real. These are the stories (as a writer) that just flow, and don’t leave me sitting in front of my laptop screen or notebook trying to contrive a concept, thought, or idea to write about.

For me, writing has become a bid to not only encourage myself to talk (and write) more, but also to encourage others to express their feelings more. Expression is healthy, whether that be verbal or written, and it helps us process and digest moments of overwhelming feeling. Here’s me sharing one of those moments that I had recently.

I recently had a very surreal moment in my Ride class at 1Rebel [for anyone who hasn’t heard of 1Rebel see here]. Their Ride classes are essentially spinning classes x1,000. Think night club vibes, strobe lighting, haze…

--

--

Jess Redfern

Writer, Life Enthusiast, Wellness & Mental Health Advocate, Environmental & Animal Activist, HR and Senior People Manager for Makers.